I spent most of yesterday afternoon planning dinners for the entire month of May.  The. Entire. Month.  My craziness continues.

First recipe from the to-make list = Island Spice Pork Tenderloin from Annie’s Eats.  Pork is usually the hardest thing for me to cook well – it always ends up way over-cooked, dry and rubbery – so we don’t have it often.  I can remember 3 times making pork since I started making regular dinners.  All 3 sucked bigged time so I kind of gave up.  Such a shame too because we both really like pork A LOT.  I knew by tackling this list I’d also have to tackle pork again.

Only a glutton for punishment  would choose pork as her first dish.  But the Island Spice Pork Tenderloin sounded sooo delicious that I could not pass it up.  So I put on my big girl apron and faced the enemy head on!  It was a little bit scary and there were a few moments where I thought defeat was imminent, but in the end, I totally dominated.  Pork is conquered and I am so glad I gave it another try.  Check out the stats on the dish and the recipe below…

  

Island Spice Pork Tenderloin

List #: 96

Saved Since: March 2010

Husband’s Rating: Excellent; “You could make this again anytime you want”.

My thoughts: Super easy and fast; ingredients are easy to find and prep is simple.  Flavor is a knock out!

Recipe Count: 1 down, 204 to go

Recipe

(ingredients listed are for 2 servings; originial recipe written for 4+)

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp. kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 lb. pork tenderloin
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp. finely minced garlic
  • 3/4 tsp. Tabasco sauce

Cook

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Combine salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, and cinnamon in a bowl. Blend with a fork or small whisk.  Pat the mixture over the pork until covered.
  2. Heat olive oil in an oven-proof skillet over medium-high heat.  Sear the tenderloin in the skillet and brown on all sides.  Remove from the skillet with pork in it from the heat.
  3. Mix together brown sugar, garlic, and Tabasco in a separate bowl.  Spread the mixture over the top of the tenderloin in the skillet.
  4. Cook in the oven for about 15 to 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and cover with foil to let rest for about 10 minutes before slicing.

Source: Recipe from Annie’s Eats, adapted from Pennies on a Platter, originally from The Gourmet Cookbook

