I have had a chicken burger only once before that I remember (yes that’s an old blog of mine) and it was pretty good. So I felt another chicken burger was in order.  Let me tell you something about a chicken burger with some garlic-rosemary mayonnaise.  It’s delicious.  I never would have thought I would really enjoy this recipe.  I saw Giada make them on TV and the burgers looked tasty so I added them to my list.  But I didn’t expect to really, really like them.

I liked this recipe because it has 4 main ingredients and I am of the school of thought that burgers should ultimately be simple.  Hello chicken, mayo, rosemary, and garlic.  It doesn’t get much simpler than that.  And prep was a snap too.  Hello mixing the four ingredients and forming patties to grill.Our only issue was the amount of rosemary.  I mean yes, it’s a garlic-rosemary burger, but holy rosemary batman!  Next time, I’ll cut that back a bit but we’ll definitely have thesea gain sometimes.  And per the husband’s request we will have lettuce and tomato toppings. (If you read a bit in my blog entry from the first chicken burger I ate, you’ll learn I am a burger minimalist.)

PS the original recipe left us with quite a bit of mayo leftover so the recipe below reflects a reduction in the amounts for the mayonnaise.

 

Chicken Burgers with Garlic-Rosemary Mayonnaise

List #: 73 (You can see the full list on the About  page).

Saved Since: April 2010

Husband’s Rating: Delicious; “Less rosemary, more toppings”.

My thoughts: A surprising success; my kind of burger: simple and minimal.

Recipe Count: 3 down, 202 to go

 Recipe

(ingredients listed are for 2 servings; originial recipe written for 4)

Ingredients

   For mayonnaise:

  • 1/4 c. mayonnaise
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1/2 clove garlic, minced

   For burgers:

  • 1/2 lb. ground chicken
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 2 burger buns
  • olive oil

Cook

  1. Mix mayonnaise: In a small bowl, mix together mayonnaise, garlic, and rosemary.  Set aside.
  2. For the burgers: Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat.  In a large bowl, mix together the ground chicken, salt, pepper, and most of the mayonnaise mixture (leave aside about 2 tsp. for later).
  3. Form the mixture into 2 patties and place the burgers on the grill.
  4. Cook for about 7 minutes on each side.  Transfer to paper towels and let rest for a few minutes.
  5. Brush the cut side of each bun with the olive oil and a small amount of the mayonnaise.  Grill buns for 1 to 2 minutes until slightly golden.
  6. Assemble burgers: spread some of the remaining mayonnaise on the buns and build your burger.

 Source: adapted from Giada De Laurentiis.

