I made Pecos Pasta the other night and while it was pretty good, there are a couple of things that would have made it better:

  1. kids
  2. different seasoning
  3. less pasta
  4. more cheese

For some reason this dish seemed like it could be a really kid-friendly meal.  We don’t have kids.  I wasn’t in love with it myself, but I could see kids really enjoying it.  My husband said it reminded him of an upscale Hamburger Helper meal.  I don’t remember ever eating Hamburger Helper so I can’t really speak to that. 

My main complaint with this meal is that the overwhelming flavor seemed only to come from the canned chili.  Which is okay, but I think I would have enjoyed a spicy taco seasoning taste more.  If I were going to make this again, I’d probably change a lot.  In fact, I just might try this dish again with the changes running through my head right now.  And I’d definitely use the recommended amount of pasta.  The proportion of pasta to other ingredients was off.  That was my fault for not following the directions. 

And more cheese.  You can (almost) never have too much cheese 🙂

Pecos Pasta

List #: 76 (You can see the full list on the About page).

Saved Since: April 2010

Husband’s Rating: Average, tastes like Hamburger Helper

My thoughts: Changes should be made

Recipe Count: 5 down, 200 to go

Recipe

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 c. uncooked pasta – this is the correct amount to use (any kind, I used rotini because we had it in the pantry)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/2 small green pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1 15 oz. can chili with beans
  • 1 ear of corn
  • 1/2 tsp. seasoning salt
  • pepper
  • 1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese 

Cook

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain and set aside.
  2. Cook ear of corn. If still in husk, microwave for 1 minute; remove husk; cut kernels off ear.  If husk is removed, place an inch of water in a microwave safe dish and put corn in water; microwave for 1 minute; cut kernels off ear.
  3. Melt the butter in a skillet.
  4. Add green peppers and onion, cooking until tender, but not brown.
  5. Add canned chili, corn, seasoning salt, and pepper.
  6. Simmer on low heat for about 5 minutes.
  7. Stir in cooked pasta and top with shredded cheese.
  8. Cover and heat on low until cheese is melted.

 Source: adapted from Taste and Tell; originally from Worldwide Ward Cookbook

