I love margaritas so anything with ‘Tequila’ in the title always catches my eye.  Hello Tequila Lime Chicken.  You look pretty darn tasty. 

I was surprised at how easy this recipe was considering it comes from Barefoot Contessa.  I always expect her recipes to be long, involved, and require at least one homemade ingredient.  Not the case here.  I guess even Ina Garten can slum it a little when tequila is involved.

I made a few changes to this because I didn’t buy enough limes and I didn’t read ahead so instead of refrigerating overnight, I refrigerated for 5 hours.  Still delicious and I can’t wait to try some variations in the near future.  We also sprinkled cilantro over it when it was done.  But you don’t have to.  You can do whatever you want.  Tequila makes me very agreeable.

Tequila Lime Chicken

List #: 71 (Full list on the About page).

Saved Since: April 2010

Husband’s Rating: Very tasty, chicken was moist and flavorful

My thoughts: Darn good; good enough to make again and again

Recipe Count: 6 down, 199 to go

Recipe

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c. gold tequila (or Montezuma’s gold if that’s what you happen to have.  Don’t judge.)
  • 1/4 c. fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 c. margarita mix
  • 1/4 c. fresh orange juice
  • 1/2 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, minced (use gloves people!)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. salt 
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, sliced length-wise into 2 chicken breasts

Cook

  1. Combine tequila, lime juice, margarita mix, orange juice, chili powder, jalapeno, garlic, salt, and pepper in a large bowl.
  2. Add the chicken breasts and cover.
  3. Refrigerate for 5 hours (or however long you can wait after you realize you need to refrigerate this)
  4. Heat a grill pan over medium high heat and drizzle with a little bit of oil (olive, vegetable, canola, whatever)
  5. Remove chicken breasts from the marinade and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  6. Grill them for about 7 to 8 minutes on each side until chicken is cooked through.
  7. Remove to a plate and cover tightly with foil for about 5 minutes.
  8. Serve hot or at room temperature.  Sprinkle with cilantro.  Or don’t.

 Source: adapted from Barefoot Contessa Family Style, 2002

