I can’t cook rice.  I just can’t do it.  I’ve only tried a few times, but something always goes wrong.  I grew up with instant rice.  You know… boil water, throw a bag of rice in and wait 10 minutes.  It’s never let me down before so I don’t know why I can’t just be happy with my rice in a bag. 

I just get intrigued when I see a recipe for rice that requires a little more effort than boiling a bag.  Pioneer Woman’s Basic Mexican Rice just spoke to me.  And then after all was said and done I think it laughed at me.  My basic issue was that I didn’t pay attention to the rice-to-liquid ratios of my rice.  I just went by the measurements in the recipe.  As I was failing, my husband asked “what is the ratio?”.  I was like “what?”.  Shows how much I know about rice. 

Anyway, it took a long time to cook through and even then some of it wasn’t fully cooked.  BUT it was delicious.  The spice was hot, but it was the good kind of hot.  Like the really good kind.  I recommend this recipe, just do 1 of 2 things:

  1. Check the ratios on your rice package!
  2. OR cheat and make the instant rice first and mix it in with the other ingredients later.

I will be choosing option 2 next time for sure.

Basic Mexican Rice

List #: 123 (Full list on the About page).

Saved Since: November 2009

Husband’s Rating: “would be better if it was all cooked” (thankssss :-P)

My thoughts: really good spice; will make instant rice next time

Recipe Count: 7 down, 198 to go

Recipe

Serves 3 to 4

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 1/4 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 c. long grain rice
  • 5 oz. Rotel, drained (or not drained, depending on how you like the heat)
  • 7 oz. whole tomatoes
  • 1 c. low sodium chicken broth (but for the love of fully cooked rice, check your ratios!!!)
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • fresh cilantro, chopped

Cook

  1. Heat the canola oil in a skillet over medium heat.
  2. Add the onions and cook 3 to 4 minutes.
  3. Reduce heat to low and add rice and garlic.
  4. Stir continuously.  You don’t want the rice to burn.
  5. Cover and cook 3 minutes over low heat.
  6. Add Rotel and tomatoes, breaking up the whole tomatoes.
  7. Stir to combine and cook for 2 more minutes.
  8. Stir in cumin and salt.
  9. Add chicken broth and bring to a boil.
  10. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and let simmer for about 15 minutes, or until the rice is cooked.
  11. Add more liquid as needed.  You don’t want the rice to be sticky.
  12. Sprinkle cilantro over the top, just before serving.

 Source: The Pioneer Woman Cooks

