In February 2007, I went on a dinner date at The Cellar in Blacksburg, VA.  It was the second time I’d been there in 5 years of living and attending school in Blacksburg.  I was told they had good pizza and since I am normally a cheese or pepperoni pizza girl, I let my date choose, figuring I could pick off the toppings I didn’t like. 

He ordered the Hawaiian pizza which has ham, bacon, pineapple, and cheddar cheese.  I said okay, but was doubtful I’d actually like the toppings.  I think I even told my date I had never eaten Hawaiian pizza and after recovering from his initial shock, he assured me it was delicious.  Warm pineapple? I thought.  I know it’s popular to grill peaches and I enjoyed warm baked apples, but for some reason, I couldn’t imagine warm pineapple being good, nevermind on a pizza.

The Hawaiian came to our table and I took a small bite, a look of uncertainty dominating my face.  I chewed, I tasted, I swallowed.  Looking at my date, I smiled, nodding my head in agreement.  This was delicious pizza!  He smiled back and took a bite of his own slice. 

15 months later, the same guy who introduced me to warm pineapple, took me to the top of a mountain and gave me a ring.  4 and a half months after that, I married him.  And yesterday, I made a dish with warm pineapple.  It reminded me of the very first time I tasted it.  And of our first date 🙂

Pork Skewers with Pineapple-Scallion Rice

List #: 29 (Full list on the About page).

Saved Since: September 2008

Husband’s Rating: “really good meal. pork cooked well”

My thoughts: pineapple and pork is just delicious and pineapple and rice is wonderful too. 

Recipe Count: 8 down, 197 to go

Recipe

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 8 oz. can pineapple chunks in their juice
  • 1 small clove of garlic, smashed
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. finely grated fresh ginger
  • 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 lb. pork loin, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 2 scallions, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 bag of Boil-In-Bag rice

Cook

  1. Drain the pineapple chunks, but keep the juice for the marinade.
  2. In a zip-loc bag, combine pineapple juice, garlic, soy sauce, ginger, oil, salt and pepper.
  3. Add the pork and the scallions and let marinate at room temperatute for 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat a grill pan to medium-high heat (or use an outdoor grill).
  5. Put a pot of water on to boil and cook boil-in-bag rice as indicated on the package.
  6. Meanwhile, thread the pork and two-thirds of the pineapple chunks onto skewers.
  7. Thread the scallions onto one skewer.
  8. Grill the kebabs turning occasionally until cooked through, about 10 to 12 minutes.
  9. Chop the remaining pineapple chunks and stir into the cooked rice.
  10. Remove grilled scallions from the skewer and stir into the rice.
  11. Serve warm.

Source: adapated from Everyday with Rachel Ray Magazine, September 2008 issue.

