Click here to read the story I wrote after making this dish.

*** 

I made a couscous dish the other night and was reminded of that story.  It was early in my relationship with my husband.  For a long time I was not allowed to tell anyone about it because he was embarrassed about it.  He is still not thrilled that I am writing this, but as I said then and still say now, that experience served its purpose. 

I whole-heartedly recommend this couscous dish, even if you don’t have a story to go along with it. 

 Vegetable Couscous

List #: 83

Saved Since: March 2010

Husband’s Rating: “very good.  more couscous, less vegetables next time.”  Recipe is written to reflect that change.

My thoughts: tasty, quick, easy = perfect. 

Recipe Count: 9 down, 196 to go

Recipe

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1/4 medium onion, diced
  • 1/2 small green bell pepper, cut into thin strips
  • 1/2 small red bell pepper, cut into thin strips
  • 1 small zucchini, diced
  • 1 small yellow squash, diced
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/8 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • pepper
  • couple dashes of hot sauce
  • 3/4 c. couscous
  • 1 c. chicken broth

Cook

  1. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.
  2. Saute carrots, onion, and peppers until crisp-tender
  3. Add the zucchini, squash, basil, garlic, salt & pepper and mix well.
  4. Stir in the couscous.
  5. Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil.
  6. Once it boils, cover the skillet and remove from heat.
  7. Let stand for about 10 minutes.
  8. Fluff with a fork and serve.

Source: adapted from delightful country cookin’.

