We had a first in our house on Tuesday night: Jicama.  I’ve seen this  in recipes, heard about it on cooking shows, never tasted it.

Finding it at the grocery store was an adventure too.  Did you know, in the produce sections there are shelfs on the bottom of the corner end-pieces of the regular displays?  They will put food anywhere.  Did you also know that Jicama are HUGE?  And there will only be about 4 to choose from?  And they will all be bigger than your head when you only need half of a 3/4 lb. Jicama?  The smallest I could find was 1 & 1/4 lb.  Great, thanks.

Anyway, onto this dish: this is the second recipe I have made from RealSimple magazine.  And just like the other (which I will post soon) it was so-so.  The Glazed pork didn’t blow me away, didn’t have been ooh-ing and mmm-ing as I stuffed myself silly.  It was just okay.  The pineapple slaw was a nice treat and I was really hoping that Jicama would be this revelation of food, this “omg I can’t believe I have never had jicama before” moment.  But, it wasn’t.  So now we have a still large Jicama in our house and I’ll have to find something to do with it.  Stay tuned.

I’ll go ahead and post this recipe because it isn’t horrible.  It’s definitely simple and I understand what Real Simple mag is trying to do.  More bang for less work and ingredients.  Well, the bang here is definitely in the slaw.  (Though truthfully, my husband and I ended up eating mostly the pineapple and red bell pepper and leaving the jicama in the bowl).

Glazed Pork Tenderloin with Pineapple Slaw

List #: Bonus recipe — I just went through some old magazine and tore this out a few days ago

Saved Since: April 2010

Husband’s Rating: “Not good, not bad”

My thoughts: Eh.  Wish the recipe had a little more going on in the glaze.  Use your imagination people and make this pork spectacular. 

Recipe Count: 10 down, 196 to go

Recipe

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 lb. pork tenderloin
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. Ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/4 tsp. ground chipotle pepper
  • 1/2 small jicama (about 3/8 lb.), peeled and cut into thin strips
  • 10 oz. can pineapple rings, drained of juices and cut into thin strips (or use a fresh pineapple)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, cut into thin strips
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh lime juice

Cook

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Heat 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil over medium-high heat in an oven-safe skillet.
  3. Season the pork with salt and pepper and cook, turning occasionally until browned on all sides.
  4. In a small bowl, mix together the ketchup, honey, and chili pepper.
  5. Brush the pork with half of the glaze and put the skillet in the oven.
  6. Roast, turning once, until the pork is cooked through, about 12 minutes.
  7. Brush the remaining glaze on the pork and let sit for at least 5 minutes before slicing.
  8. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the jicama, pineapple, bell pepper, lime juice, and 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil.
  9. Season with salt and pepper and serve with the pork.

Source: adapted from RealSimple Magazine, April 2010 issue.

