I love fried chicken but I am too afraid to cook it the traditional way.  I love how cooks on TV have fryers right next to their toasters.  Doesn’t everyone?

If I did, I’d probably fry chicken (and just about everything else) all the time.  So, it’s probably a good thing we don’t have a fryer!  We’d be huge people.  You’d probably find us embedded in the couch.  You’d probably have to take a wall out to move us.

Anyway, so this recipe is “fried”, not fried, because it’s baked.  Makes sense right?  I really wanted this recipe to knock me out in the first bite.  It’s called fiery isn’t it?  Well, I wasn’t impressed.  I’m still posting this because we enjoyed eating it.  I just have a few thoughts on what to do next time and the recipe below reflects those.  I also substituted panko for bread crumbs because I think they taste better and crisp better.

Try this out and enjoy.  Hopefully my changes will make it truly Fiery “Fried” Chicken.

Fiery “Fried” Chicken

List #: 48

Saved Since: August 2007

Husband’s Rating: “where’s the spice?”

My thoughts: definitely needs more fire

Recipe Count: 12 down, 194 to go

Recipe

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. chili-garlic sauce
  • 3 Tbsp. pineapple juice
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 6 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 3/4 c. panko
  • 3 Tbsp. canola oil

Cook

  1. In a bowl mix together chili-garlic sauce, pineapple juice, and salt & pepper.
  2. Marinade chicken for at least an hour in the sauce mixture.
  3. Preheat the oven to 450F.
  4. In a bowl, combine panko, 1/2 tsp. salt, and the oil.
  5. Coat each piece of chicken in the bread crumb mixture and transfer to a baking sheet.
  6. Bake until cooked through, about 12 to 15 minutes.

Source: adapted from RealSimple.com

